So, another year ahead!

For a lot of you this will be a very exciting time. 2012 is the year you are getting married and since the New Year you have been able to say ‘I’m getting married…THIS YEAR!’.

To be honest, there are a lot of newly engaged couples who are also planning on getting married this year with quick turnaround weddings becoming more and more popular. It’s understandable really, the truth is, nobody wants to wait, you just want to make sure that everything is perfect!

I did a wedding fayre yesterday and so many brides to be got engaged over Christmas, it was lovely to see so many gushing, newly engaged couples. Even the men looked thoroughly enthusiastic (a true sign of the start of wedding fayre season)!

For me 2011 was a great year. Busy and hard work, but great nonetheless. Last January I really started to get out there with the wedding fayres and the response was outstanding. Not being something I had done before for Weddings by Rachel it was really interesting to see the response. And great for me too – getting to meet so many fabulous suppliers and seeing the same faces again and again allows you to build up great relationships with people.

Then there’s the brides and grooms! Is there anything more fun that talking to a couple about their visions, helping them to create the perfect wedding day and pulling it all together? I was part of some great weddings last year of all shapes, sizes and styles and there are a lot more to come in 2012 and onwards. Very exciting!

As much fun as my job is, it is not usually one for a fast turnaround. A lot of brides are still taking about a year (maybe more) to plan their weddings and so weddings that come to me in 2011 might not be getting married until 2013! In fact, in July 2011 I had an enquiry for 2015 – and I just took on a 2014 bride. But that doesn’t make it any less exciting – I love what I do and wouldn’t change it for the world.

Then late last year I was awarded with two awards at the inaugural Welsh National Wedding Awards. I was lucky enough to win the regional awards for both Best Wedding Service and Best New Business Started With 2 Years. Thank you to all of you who voted to get me there – it was such a lovely honour, especially against such tough competition!

I even managed to squeeze in a quiet Christmas (well, quiet by my families standards which is not really all that quiet, but we love it anyway) before kicking off 2012 with a wedding fayre at the Wales Millennium Centre yesterday, which had a fantastic turn out.

So here’s to 2012 – let’s hope its even more fun than 2011 and, for those of you getting married this year or starting to plan your weddings, think about having a wedding planner – you may find it’s the best thing you ever do!

To find out why to hire a wedding planner, click here.

Weddings by Rachel offer completely free, no obligation consultations to discuss your needs. To book a free consultation, call 07522 447546 or click here.

Leave a Reply

